As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases-no additional cost to you.


What does a fiercely independent young widow really want? One determined suitor is about to find out. . .
When Adeline, Dowager Countess of Wake, learns of her husband’s sudden death, she realizes she’s free. At last, she can do, go, and be as she pleases. Finally, she can have the life she has always dreamed of. She doesn’t need, or want, to remarry. Especially not the supremely dashing future Marquis of Marksworth, who makes Adeline yearn for his desire. . .
Lord Lyonwood, son of a philandering marquis, will not be like his father. He wants to run his estates and watch them flourish—and find a wife who brings love to his life. When he meets spirited and self-reliant Adeline in a case of near-scandalous mistaken identity, Lyon feels he’s met his match. But Adeline isn’t interested in a marriage proposal. She will only accept becoming his lover—and Lyon finds it hard to refuse. Unless the fire of his passion can melt Adeline’s resolve. . .

The Earl Next Door (First Comes Love, #1) by Amelia Grey
Published by St. Martin's Press on May 28, 2019


Buy on Amazon

I received a complimentary ARC from Edelweiss + in exchange for an honest review.



Christy's Thoughts

The third and final installment of Amelia Grey’s First Comes Love series.

Brina Feld runs into a dimly lit library at a masked ball in Paris to hide from an overzealous pursuer.  Once the door is closed, she spies a man tied to a chair whose first words are “Don’t just stand there, come untie me.”

After this “meet cute” they part ways.  Zane Browning, the newly named Earl of Blacknight, spots Brina in London and places a wager that she will become his wife by the end of the Season.  He’s smitten with Brina and thinks that by making a commitment to her he can show his family he has settled down, will become a respectable member of society and therefore be able take his place as head of the family.

Brina wants to remain a widow and even though she is intrigued by him, she know he will not change his rakehell ways.  She counter wagers him that he has to stop drinking, gambling, swearing, and womanizing until the last ball of the Season.  If he can do that, she will accept his proposal.

Only Brina doesn’t realize Zane always plays to win, and excluding all women also includes denying herself the delicious temptation that is Zane Browning.

Thank you Edelweiss+ and St. Martin’s Press for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.


Order your copy now!


More Books by Amelia Grey





Already read the book? Write a review!  

I’ll show you how in 1-2-3 easy steps.

Authors -and readers- really appreciate your constructive feedback!

You can share your review on social media, Goodreads, BookBub, Amazon, or with a friend!

Shares are always appreciated to help others discover their next great read. Click below:


Reviewer: Christy is a school librarian in Central Ohio who loves books and those who read them.  Julia’s Quinn’s The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband was her introduction to smart romance.  She enjoys historical and contemporary romances with intelligent, capable, and sassy women.  She also enjoys mysteries and thrillers along with children’s literature.  Her husband and young daughter are both avid readers.  They live with three rescue cats who are living their HEA all day, every day on the lap of a reader. You can follow Christy on Instagram.


About Amelia Grey

Amelia Grey

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Amelia Grey read her first romance book when she was thirteen. She’s been a devoted reader of love stories ever since.

Amelia has been happily married to her high school sweetheart for over thirty-five years and she lives on the beautiful gulf coast of Northwest Florida.

She is a two-time winner of the prestigious Booksellers Best Award, and she has also won the Aspen Gold, and Golden Quill awards. Writing as Gloria Dale Skinner, she won the coveted Romantic Times Award for Love and Laughter and the Maggie Award.

Amelia’s books have been published in Europe, Indonesia, Turkey, Russia, and Japan. Several of her books have been featured in Doubleday and Rhapsody Book Clubs.

The Duke In My Bed and The Earl Claims A Bride were Amelia’s first two books in the widely acclaimed “The Heirs’ Club of Scoundrels” trilogy. The third book Wedding Night With the Earl is coming in March 2016.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,968 other subscribers

Leave a Reply